Test report DSG-4718 · Rev C · tested October 10, 2026

AI Devices & SystemsDevice under test

Microsoft unveils Nvidia-powered AI laptop in Copilot+ push

Microsoft has unveiled an AI-focused laptop running Nvidia silicon, per Yahoo Finance. The device adds Nvidia to the existing Qualcomm, Intel, and AMD lineup behind the Copilot+ PC specification.

Read
3 min
Words
518
Node
45nm
Operator
Elena Vasquez

Spec summary

  1. Microsoft unveiled an AI-focused laptop powered by Nvidia chips, per Yahoo Finance, without disclosed pricing, launch date, or form factor
  2. Microsoft launched the Copilot+ PC category on May 20, 2024, with a minimum spec of 40 TOPS NPU throughput, 16 GB RAM, and 256 GB storage
  3. First-wave Copilot+ devices shipped exclusively with Qualcomm Snapdragon X Elite and X Plus, with AMD Ryzen AI 300 and Intel Core Ultra 200V variants arriving later in 2024
  4. Global PC shipments grew 4.8% in 2024 to roughly 263 million units, per IDC's January 2025 tracker
  5. Nvidia reported $47.4 billion in data-center revenue in calendar 2024 and announced the GeForce RTX 50-series mobile family at CES 2025

Microsoft has unveiled a new AI-focused notebook, with the device running Nvidia silicon rather than the Qualcomm Snapdragon X chips that powered the first generation of Microsoft's Copilot+ PC category. Yahoo Finance reported the announcement, which adds a third processor vendor to Microsoft's AI PC roadmap.

What do we know about the hardware?

The Yahoo Finance report identifies the device as an "AI laptop powered by Nvidia chips" but does not specify the SKU, screen size, weight, RAM configuration, storage tier, launch date, or pricing. Microsoft's existing Surface line includes Surface Laptop and Surface Pro form factors, with current-generation models shipping with Qualcomm, Intel Core Ultra, and AMD Ryzen AI 300 processors.

The Nvidia silicon most likely targeted at this segment is the GeForce RTX 50-series family, announced at CES 2025 in January. Those parts deliver neural-network throughput in the range of hundreds of TOPS, well above the 40 TOPS threshold Microsoft originally set for Copilot+ classification. Nvidia also continues to ship RTX 40-series mobile GPUs in volume, with those parts remaining capable of on-device AI inference.

Where does this fit in Microsoft's AI PC strategy?

Microsoft introduced the Copilot+ PC category on May 20, 2024, alongside partner devices from Dell, Lenovo, HP, Acer, Asus, and Samsung. The first wave shipped exclusively with Snapdragon X Elite and X Plus processors, with AMD Ryzen AI 300 and Intel Core Ultra 200V variants arriving later that year.

The Copilot+ specification requires a minimum of 40 TOPS from the NPU, at least 16 GB of RAM, and 256 GB of storage. Adding Nvidia-based notebooks gives Microsoft and its OEM partners three silicon paths to the same software baseline.

The Windows AI Foundry and DirectML runtime layers allow the same model to target different accelerator hardware, which is why the underlying chip vendor is largely invisible to end-users running Recall, Live Captions, Cocreator, or third-party local LLMs through Ollama and LM Studio.

What is the market context?

Global PC shipments grew 4.8% year-on-year in 2024 to roughly 263 million units, according to IDC's January 2025 tracker, with AI-capable notebooks accounting for a growing share of premium SKUs.

Nvidia's data-center revenue reached $47.4 billion in calendar 2024, and the company has been pushing to extend its CUDA ecosystem into client devices as the boundary between PC and workstation workloads blurs.

Nvidia is not new to laptops. Its GeForce RTX mobile line has shipped in OEM notebooks for over a decade, but Microsoft-aligned AI notebooks have stuck to x86 and Arm CPU cores paired with discrete or integrated GPUs.

A Copilot+ certified device with a current-generation GeForce RTX 50-series GPU would mark the first time Microsoft aligned its flagship AI PC marketing with Nvidia's discrete graphics stack.

The Yahoo Finance report did not specify whether the laptop carries Nvidia, Microsoft, or a third-party OEM brand, nor whether the device uses an integrated Nvidia chip or a discrete GeForce RTX GPU paired with an Intel or AMD host processor.

via Google News: AI chip (Source)

Filed under

  • microsoft
  • nvidia
  • copilot
  • ai-pc
  • geforce-rtx
Share this article:

More from Elena Vasquez

Elena Vasquez

Show full bio

Senior reporter covering industry trends and analytics at Die Signal.

247 articles

Same lot · LOT-C1C6

« Previous article